History & Frequently Asked Questions

About Us



Founded in 1901 under the sponsorship of the Western Golf Association, the Women's Western Golf Association has been conducting national championships for 121 years.

  • 1901 - First amateur championship was played, and has been held without interruption since.
  • 1903 - Membership was originally limited to clubs within 500 miles of Chicago, west of the Allegheny Mountains. Thus the name "Women's Western."
  • 1907 - Membership grew to 33 clubs in five Midwestern states.
  • 1920 - The WWGA Junior Championship was introduced.
  • 1920s - Derby Medal Invitational inaugurated and held through 1941.
  • 1930 - Women's Western Open was established. It was considered a major championship in women's professional golf until it was discontinued in 1967.
  • 1971 - The Women's Western Golf Foundation was formed.
  • 1979 - The WWGA Senior Championship was established.
  • 2000 - Represented by member clubs across the United States, the WWGA embraces thousands of women nationwide.
The Women's Western Golf Association is one of the oldest and most revered organizations in the United States. Eighty dedicated Directors from across the country volunteer their time and talent to running the not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. There are no paid Directors on the Board.


In 1971 the WWGF charitable trust was formed to receive and distribute funds to advance women in scholastic achievement and intercollegiate golf programs by:
  • Granting academic scholarships to worthy and deserving women students who also have an involvement in the sport of golf. Skill or excellence in the sport is not a criterion.
  • Providing financial assistance to universities & colleges with inadequately funded women's golf programs.
There are no paid members on the Foundation Board. Virtually all dollars contributed are distributed to colleges and universities in the form of individual scholarship payments or women's golf team grants. WWGF individual scholarships are in the amount of $2,500 per year, renewable for four years.

The Women's Western Golf Foundation holds a Determination Letter from the Internal Revenue Service recognizing it as a tax-exempt charitable trust; consequently contributions to the Foundation are deductible for federal income tax purposes.

The Foundation is an outgrowth of the Women's Western Golf Association. Its primary sources of income have been contributions by Association members, proceeds from golf clubs and groups participating in an annual Foundation Scholarship Day, proceeds from the WWGA tournaments, and individual donations from friends and benefactors.


When can I apply?

The application is available starting Nov. 1. All applications and supporting documents should be completed and submitted by March 4.

When will I know if I was awarded?

The Women’s Western Golf Foundation Committee will make all decisions in April.

What are the eligibility requirements?

To be eligible to apply for a Women's Western Scholarship, applicants must be a woman high school senior and meet the following requirements:

  1. Active participant in the sport of golf (golf ability is not a criterion for selection)
  2. Have a 3.5 GPA or above on a 4.0 scale
  3. Be outstanding in character, integrity and leadership
  4. Require financial assistance to attend a four year college

What is the value of the scholarship?

The Women's Western Scholarships is valued at $10,000 and will be payable over four years of undergraduate studies.

How many scholarships are awarded?

This year, up to 20 outstanding young women will be awarded scholarships.

Further information is available in the attached Women's Western Scholarship information packet (PDF format).